Heartbreak for Hire

Photo of Sonia Hartl's Heartbreak for Hire, ARC paperback copy

Heartbreak For Hire by Sonia Hartl

Publisher: Gallery Books
Publication Date: July 27, 2021
Genres: Contemporary Romance

Book Review

Brinkley is a professional Heartbreaker. An associate of the agency, Heartbreak for Hire, she’s hired by women who have been wronged by egotistical men to enact revenge. Brinkley enjoys her job but mainly sees it as a stepping stone to opening her own gallery. When Brinkley is hired to take down Mark, she starts to question her role as a Heartbreaker. Mark is not her typical target. He seems like a genuinely nice guy and not a jerk like she’s expecting. When one thing leads to another, Brinkley must decide what she’s willing to risk to follow her dreams.

I LOVED this book. I audibly reacted to this story: gasping, breaking out into fits of laughter, and commenting aloud to myself. This is an absolutely hilarious book. Most chapters I couldn’t make it through without laughing aloud at least once.

With that said, it also has incredible depth. Brinkley has some serious issues that she works through throughout the novel. It is told entirely in the first person from Brinkley’s perspective.

I highly recommend Heartbreak for Hire for fans of Christina Lauren and Abby Jimenez! 

Thank you to Gallery Books for the review copy! All opinions are my own.


Synopsis from Goodreads

Brinkley Saunders has a secret.

To everyone in the academic world she left behind, she lost it all when she dropped out of grad school. Once a rising star following in her mother’s footsteps, she’s now an administrative assistant at an insurance agency—or so they think.

In reality, Brinkley works at Heartbreak for Hire, a secret service that specializes in revenge for jilted lovers, frenemies, and long-suffering coworkers with a little cash to spare and a man who needs to be taken down a notch. It might not be as prestigious as academia, but it helps Brinkley save for her dream of opening an art gallery and lets her exorcise a few demons, all while helping to empower women.

But when her boss announces she’s hiring male heartbreakers for the first time, Brinkley’s no longer so sure she’s doing the right thing—especially when her new coworker turns out to be a target she was paid to take down. Though Mark spends his days struggling up the academic ladder, he seems to be the opposite of a backstabbing adjunct: a nerd at heart in criminally sexy sweater vests who’s attentive both in and out of the bedroom. But as Brinkley finds it increasingly more difficult to focus on anything but Mark, she soon realizes that like herself, people aren’t always who they appear to be.


About the Author

Sonia Hartl is the author of The Lost Girls, Not Your #Lovestory, and Have a Little Faith in Me (Page Street), which received a starred review in BookPage and earned nominations for the Georgia Peach Book Award, YALSA’s Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers, Bank Street College of Education’s Best Children’s Books of the Year, and ALA’s Rise: A Feminist Book Project List. She’s also the author of an adult romcom, Heartbreak for Hire (Gallery). When she’s not writing or reading, she enjoys playing board games with her family, attempting to keep her garden alive, or looking up craft projects she’ll never get around to completing on Pinterest. She’s a member of SCBWI and was the Managing Director for Pitch Wars 2020. She lives in Grand Rapids with her husband and two daughters.


This post contains affiliate links. If you use these links to buy something we may earn a commission. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s