Books for fans of Defending Jacob

Photo of Defending Jacob by William Landay book

A few years ago I picked up a copy of Defending Jacob. My mom had read it for her book club and thoroughly recommended it. I read it in an afternoon, unable to put it down. When I saw that it was being made into a T.V. show I was so excited! This is a booklist for fan’s of both the T.V. show and the book. Please let me know in the comments if you’ve read any of these books and which ones you would recommend!

You Will Know Me: A Novel by [Megan Abbott]

You Will Know Me
Megan Abbott

Parents Katie and Eric Knox have devoted their entire lives to their daughter Devon’s gymnastics career. When Devon is suspected of murder, the Knox’s will do anything to keep Devon’s dream alive, including hiding the truth.

Reconstructing Amelia: A Novel by [Kimberly McCreight]

Reconstructing Amelia
Kimberly McCreight

Young single mother and lawyer Kate gets a call from her daughter’s elite school telling her she’s been suspended. But when she gets there, Amelia is dead. Everyone thinks Amelia jumped but Kate knows her daughter, and she believes she was pushed. As Kate works to unravel Amelia’s last few weeks she begins to wonder how well she actually knew her daughter.

Behind Every Lie by [Christina McDonald]

Behind Every Lie
Christina McDonald

When twenty-eight-year-old Eva wakes up in the hospital after being struck by lightning, she finds herself the prime suspect in her mother’s murder the night before. But Eva can’t remember anything about the previous night. As she retraces her steps and digs deeper into her mother’s life, she finds more questions than answers. Did Eva kill her mother?

A Nearly Normal Family: A Novel by [M.T. Edvardsson, Rachel Willson-Broyles]

A Nearly Normal Family
M.T. Edvardsson, Rachel Willson-Broyles

This complex multi-layered novel centers around eighteen-year-old Stella Sandell who is accused of murdering a man fifteen years her senior. When the evidence points to Stella being guilty, her parents try to do everything to clear her name.

We Need to Talk About Kevin
Lionel Shriver

When Eva’s son Kevin murders seven of his fellow classmates, a cafeteria worker, and a beloved teacher, Eva is forced to examine her role as a mother. We Need to Talk About Kevin asks the question, What happens when your son turns into an unspeakable monster?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s