All About Us

All About Us by Tom Ellen

Publisher: HQ
Publication Date: October 13, 2020
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Christmas
Amazon / Goodreads / Barnes & Noble / Google Books 

Book Review

All About Us follows Ben, a British man on the brink of a marital crisis. Part A Christmas Carol, part Love Actually, Ben meets a watch seller in a pub on Christmas Eve and suddenly is transported back in time to relive Christmas’ past. Ben is forced to look at his choices over the years and decide if he wants to stay married to his college sweetheart, Daphne, or pursue Alice, the one who got away. As he jumps through time he starts to notice things he missed the first time, realizing what he took for granted, and starts to work through his plans for the present. But is it too late for Ben to start over?

All About Us is told completely in the first-person from Ben’s perspective. At first, Ben somewhat annoyed me. He spent a fair amount of time complaining and feeling sorry for himself. But once the story progressed, I quickly warmed up to him, started to understand more about him, and from that point forward immediately liked him. From the very beginning, the story took a thoroughly different trajectory than I was expecting, but I really liked how the story overall played out. Without giving too much of the story away, I also loved his female counterpart and clung to the page waiting to see what happened.

I absolutely loved this book. It’s quite an emotional roller coaster. It packs an unexpected punch right from the beginning and leaves you unable to put it down until you’re sure everything works out for the characters.

I highly recommend All About Us for fans of Oona Out of Order and One Day in December.

Thank you to TLC Book Tours and HQ for sending me a gifted copy. All opinions are my own.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s